The planet?… no. We?… no. YOU need: you

Annie Leonard still waves her hands around far too much for my liking, but once I get past that and listen to what she’s saying, I find she’s still speaking a whole lot of sense.

Self-interest seems to be the one universal thing that causes people to act. If you agree that the problems facing our society are huge, the message seems to me to be The planet needs We need You need you.

(Thanks and kudos to Learning From Dogs for the heads-up on this latest The Story of Stuff project video.)

About peNdantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Business, Capitalism, Climate, Communication, Core thought, crowdsourcing, Economics, Education, Energy, Environment, GCD: Global climate disruption, Health, News and politics, People, Strategy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The planet?… no. We?… no. YOU need: you

  1. jpgreenword says:

    Annie Leonard and her group are simply amazing. I love all of their videos. I’ve actually used a few of them in my classroom (Story of Stuff, of Bottled Water, of Cosmetics).

    Like

    • pendantry says:

      I hope you don’t mind: I’ve added links in your comment to the videos you’ve referred to.

      I think the Story of Stuff project’s videos should feature regularly on (inter)national television. Any thoughts on how we go about getting the ‘show’ sponsored on the idiot box (preferably by some appropriate organisation(s) so there can be no accusations of conflicts of interest)?

      I’ve just watched The Story of Electronics again to remind me why I’m tapping away on a machine that’s still (mostly) good for purpose, even though it’s getting a bit long in the tooth:

      Like

      • jpgreenword says:

        “Any thoughts on how we go about getting the ‘show’ sponsored on the idiot box”
        Although I do not have a good answer to that question, it reminds me of a question I ask myself that is related: Why are there rich people talking about environmental issues and supporting environmental causes? There are numerous people who support the destruction of our climate (I’m sorry, I means free enterprise and “cheap abundant energy”) and spend millions on adds and politicians to get what they want. Where are our rich influential people?

        If I had billions of dollars (although, I don’t believe anyone should have billions of dollars), I’d spend some of it advancing the use of renewable energy, climate change education and the election of people who are scientifically literate.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Where are our rich influential people? | Wibble

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.