Being a billionaire doesn’t mean you’re not totally nuts

The ‘The Richest Person on the Planet Hat’ is passed around from time to time. When I wrote my ‘open letter to all billionaires, everywhere‘ post in September 2020, Jeff Bezos had the hat. Forbes World’s Billionaires List 2023 now shows Bezos as #3, with Elon Musk at #2, and some geezer I’ve never heard of (I don’t know if that’s a good thing, or a bad thing), Bernard Arnault, holding the hat.

The thing is, at least from where I sit, far too many people seem to believe that ‘being a billionaire’ is synonymous with ‘being incredibly brilliant’. That’s not the way I see it. Smart, well, yes (in some ways). Hard-working, certainly. The factor few take into account is blind luck: some will succeed, others won’t.

Not long ago, Elon Musk was reported as saying the following:

If people don’t have more children, civilization is going to crumble. Mark my words.

Elon Musk (as reported by CNBC, 07Dec2021)

Really.

I reacted to this on Twitter, and was attacked by a dimwit who clearly believed the myth that ‘billionaires must be smart’. Interspersed with suggestions that I was ‘dense’, he wittered on about how the Earth’s ‘carrying capacity’ has been increased, and suggested that I ‘google productivity’. Another moron adjured me to, “Look at statistics – birth decline is real. World need young people.”

I have indeed looked at the statistics. Here’s one example, where you can see in real time that the numbers of the members of the species homo fatuus brutus are going decidedly up, minute by minute. Not down.

Yes, human fertility is declining. But it is in no way crashing. The net increase of births over deaths at present is approximately 1.3% per year. That equates to a doubling time of ~53 years (if you doubt that, you need to watch Professor Albert Bartlett’s lecture ‘Arithmetic, population and energy‘). Or, to put it another way, there are now ~8 billion people on our planet. In less than one human lifetime, if things continue as they are (which, given the climate crisis, is impossible) there would be twice as many people on the planet, ie 16 billion. The United Nations estimates that our numbers will peak at 11 billion (and, barring mass starvation and/or genocide on a horrific scale, I cannot understand how they arrive at that figure).

And, yes, of course the world needs young people. However, there are in fact a great many right now, and far too many are suffering, badly – but far away, and, to far too many, they simply don’t count, as they’re not ‘our own’, and so the eye that turns to them is blind. That we’re not collectively doing far more about their plight than we are sickens me to the core.

Pink Floyd – On The Turning Away [HQ] (Live 1988)

Back to Elon Musk and his bizarre assertion, which all too many are willing to believe simply because “he’s a billionaire, and therefore ‘a really smart guy’.” His statement is not wrong, per se: if nobody were to have any more children, then humanity would disappear, duh. To my mind, he’s just rationalising his own selfish behaviour. He already has nine – at least? – children of his own: if he were really so concerned about the fate of civilization, it would, surely, be better all round were he to adopt starving orphans instead (he can’t claim he can’t afford to do that). But, no, instead he wants to procreate; over and above the prehistoric urge to spread one’s own seed, no doubt he believes that his genes are far superior.

If you are on the fence about Musk’s credentials as some kind of genius, then I urge you to read the article ‘Elon Musk’s Shadow Rule‘. It’s pretty long, but I found it compelling: my take-away from it is that, while we should all be concerned about AI in the long term, there’s a much more serious danger in the near term, and its initials are EM.

One of the ‘genius’ things that Elon Musk has done of late is to rebrand Twitter as ‘X’. The first I knew about that was when my pinned tab featuring a blue bird icon vanished (‘twould have been nice if the Chief Twit had let his userbase know in a more friendly way). Meanwhile, the BBC and others still refer to it as ‘Twitter’; go figure. I have to ask myself what kind of idiot thinks it’s a good idea to rebrand anything with, of all things, an icon that commonly means ‘close’ / ‘shut’ / ‘end’ / ‘finish’ / ‘terminate’. Or, indeed, ‘deactivate’.

Well, I’m about to deactivate my Twitter – sorry, ‘X’ – account. The ‘X Help Center‘ assures me that, ‘After your 30-day deactivation window, your Twitter account is permanently deleted.’ I did try, briefly, to determine whether ‘deleting the account’ is synonymous with ‘deleting all of the personal data held about me by that arm of Big Tech Controlled By Mr Musk The Genius’, but I failed miserably on that front (I’m clearly no genius as I’m not a billionaire), and since I wouldn’t believe any of its assurances anyway if it were to give any, I didn’t bother wasting my time further on it.

About peNdantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?, balance, Core thought, People, Phlyarology, Rants, Science and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Being a billionaire doesn’t mean you’re not totally nuts

  1. Count me as someone who thinks Mr. Musk is a total rube. Talk about a whack job.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Dr Bob Rich says:

    If I were young today, I’d choose to be childfree. It is the only environmentally sane decision. And the coming world will be horrendous. It’s a crime to knowingly subject a lovely new person to it.

    Liked by 4 people

    • jilldennison says:

      I’ve often said the same. I love my 3 children, one of whom died in 2019, but I think it is cruel at this point to bring more children into a world of uncertainty, plus the planet already lacks some of the resources necessary to support the current 8 billion.

      Liked by 3 people

    • E.A. Blair says:

      In my own lifetime, the US population has slightly more than doubled, and the world population has nearly tripled. Meanwhile, the intervals between landmark figures like 150,000,000, 200,000,000 and 300,000,000 (in the US) and billions (worldwide) is getting shorter and shorter.

      Neither my late wife nor I wanted children, and it’s a good thing, because without her, I’d have been a terrible single parent. I would have felt a tremendous guilt for bringing children into the world of 2023.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jilldennison says:

    Thank you for this one, PeNdantry. I think the sort of wealth that Musk, Bezos and others have amassed is unconscionable, when there are so many people barely surviving in this world. And who needs billions of dollars sitting in a bank growing mould? How many mansions, yachts and private jets can one person even use? It’s almost like money simply for the sake of money is an obsession with these people. And no, they are no smarter than the rest of us … many were born with that proverbial silver spoon in their mouths. Not only are they NOT smarter, they are lacking one very necessary ingredient: humanity.

    Liked by 5 people

    • ryinger77 says:

      This is erroneous thought. How is passing judgement based on the size of a person’s wallet different than judgement by skin color?

      Liked by 1 person

      • peNdantry says:

        I believe that your accusations are unfair, ryinger77. I for one try my very best not to judge on appearances (which often entails a great deal of struggling with ‘normal thought’ that has been imposed upon me by society for my entire life).

        I am all in favour of racial equality, in exactly the same way that I am totally appalled by wealth inequality. In Jill’s comment thread on this subject, I offered you a link to one of my wibblettes, and I offer no apologies for repeating it here: ‘Even the pessimists got it wrong, revisited‘.

        Liked by 1 person

        • ryinger77 says:

          I read it, I have seen the video before and see nothing odd in it. It should surprise NO ONE that (especially Americans) reality and opinion don’t match up. I made no accusations of any kind but I apologize anyway as HERE many of my thoughts are misinterpreted or misconstrued it seems.
          I consider myself a TRUE anarchist. I follow my own rules and let all others follow theirs. Many many people consider these to be the end times as they believe the world is on the cusp of burning. If we continue down this path of radical otherization they may be right.
          The need to earn a crust apparently now requires a cell phone so poor has new meaning unknown in the past.

          Like

      • jilldennison says:

        I’m not passing judgment based on the size of their wallet, but rather the fact that they have the means to help those in need, but refuse. It’s not the size of that wallet, but how they use it that raises my hackles.

        Liked by 1 person

        • ryinger77 says:

          [1] The wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are bold as a lion. [2] For the transgression of a land many are the princes thereof: but by a man of understanding and knowledge the state thereof shall be prolonged. Proverbs 28
          One of my best friends from HS is a shameless adulterer. Sinners are not a deal breaker for me. :)

          Liked by 1 person

          • jilldennison says:

            Ahhhh … you are more tolerant than I. Nobody is perfect, we have all done things we regret, but somewhere along the line, we must have a conscience. Those who do not … well, life is too short to waste time on those who have no conscience.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. rawgod says:

    The funny thing is, most of this money these wealthy people “own” does not even exist. It is virtual money, hidden inside computers. There is not enough printed or coined money anywhere in this world to cover the numbers computers try to tell us these people have. And the scary thing, for them, were the world to suffer a series of disasters that could destroy all the electricity grids at the same time, all these billionaires would be actually penniless.
    And then all these “geniuses” would prove to be useless idiots.

    Liked by 4 people

    • E.A. Blair says:

      Back on Jill’s page, I wrote:

      In so many cases, the assets of the exceedingly wealthy are not earned; they are numbers on spreadsheets or digital ephemera manipulated to give the illusion of wealth. That’s not earning, that’s negotiating.

      Like

      • peNdantry says:

        Indeed: money doesn’t exist; it’s always been a fabrication. You can’t eat, drink, or breathe it. But you can use it to buy private jets, yachts, mansions, private islands and so on.

        Meanwhile, the rest of us, when screaming about the need for better public infrastructure in a multitude of sectors always hear the refrain, “Sorry, but there’s not enough munny in the budge-it to address these problems.”

        Like

    • acflory says:

      lmao – oh well said!!!!

      Like

      • rawgod says:

        Thank you, AC. On another subject, what’s the word on the Referendum. Not poll results, how do you think it is going?

        Liked by 1 person

        • acflory says:

          Hi Rawgod. The media seems to be flogging the narrative that people are turning off the Yes vote thanks to the negative campaign run by the opposition, and, a few high profile Indigenous people. Apparently they see the Voice as a toothless concession that will change nothing for the better. What I can’t understand is why they think that voting ‘No’ will improve things. We’ve done the same things, over and over again for 200 years and things have gotten progressively worse, not better. I, personally, think it’s ego. ‘We were ignore so we’re not playing’. :(
          As for white Australia…-sigh- I really don’t know. I fear that the least well educated will be sucked in by the ‘if you don’t know, vote No’ campaign.
          As we need an overall majority AND a majority of states to vote Yes, referendums are always hard to pass. :(

          Liked by 1 person

          • rawgod says:

            What favours (and/or monies) are being given to the high profile indigenous persons? They are selling out their own people. That is despicable.
            As for what tthe Indigenous peoples get out of a YES result? It is a first step! No,they are not going to get everything they need, and hardly anything they want, but they get a foot in the door. Obviously I, an Indigenous person in Canada, want them to get more, but they won’t, not yet! We have very little to show for our tribulations, but we are on the way. My Australian cousins need to get on their way too.

            Liked by 1 person

          • acflory says:

            Yes! A foot in the door that will have a lot of media visibility. That seems to be the one thing no one here has mentioned. Yes, there are already a lot of small groups trying to get their messages across, but they are virtually invisible and governments, both state and federal, seem to ignore them quite happily.
            Once the Voice exists, its advice will be much harder to ignore.
            Thanks for giving me the final nudge to do my small bit to help. Most Australians still think that white settlers walked in and took over without a fight. Not true. Our frontier wars were simply expunged from the official histories. Time for all of us to realise that the good life we take for granted was built on the misery of First Nations People.

            Like

        • peNdantry says:

          Would you care to enlighten me on the whereabouts of the referendum to which you refer? (Pretty sure it’s not one happening here in the UK.)

          Liked by 1 person

  5. acflory says:

    Apart from hard work [obsession], luck, and a rich Daddy or Mummy, I think we should add some level of criminality to the list of traits possessed by the richest and most famous.
    True geniuses rarely if ever get rich. They’re too busy creating things.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Forestwood says:

    Twitter as a platform had entered a decline which seems to be associated with Musk’s arrival. He may or may not be smart but clearly power has gone to his head and corrupted him in the technological sense of corruption.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ryinger77 says:

    I do owe an apology. I have been through your house but failed to introduce myself and that is simply rude. Like Rumplestiltskin I believe in the power within a name. My name is Richard but I call myself Dick which I consider fair warning. If were to read similar thinking into your nom de plume we share a deep interest in the rules. I use mine to skirt them. :)

    Like

  8. daryan12 says:

    I think Bernard whateverhisnameis made his money by selling hats…that he had made in the developing world for a few quid and then sold them to rich people, with more money than sense, for thousands. He’s basically like the character in the “I saw you coming” sketches from Harry & Paul.

    Various attempts have been made to estimate the earth’s carrying capacity and the answer is, it depends. If we all adopted a more sustainable lifestyle it could be in the tens of billions. If we all tried to live like Americans, it could as low as a billion. And obviously if we use up all the resources, trying to sustain too large a population beyond its means, then like the tragedy of the commons, the carrying capacity could plummet to a fraction of its current level.

    So I suppose Musk could have his nine kids, he just needs to give up the dozen houses, the private jet, adopt a vegan diet & convince the rest of America to do the same….good luck with that one!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.