What makes the number 61 special?

‘Sixty-one’ is special to me today: no prizes for guessing why that might be! There are also no prizes for winning the quiz below§, which I am proud to present in 61’s honour.

In my opinion, 61 is almost perfect. It contains the number 6, which is itself a perfect number. Six plus one is seven, a number that’s considered by some to be magical. I’ve always liked seven because that’s the sum of all the opposite sides of a die (I’m talking about the standard cube-shaped die, not those peculiar dice I used back in the days when I played D&D). The number 61 also contains the number 1, which is, a priori¹, the first of all natural numbers (well, unless you include zero, which some weird folk do). One is, however, somewhat sad, since it’s all alone…

And now, here’s that quiz I promised you. I hope you find it entertaining!


§ That is, assuming that the ‘Crowdsignal’ embedded quiz still appears — and still works — on the day you happen to visit this page. Over the years I have become increasingly convinced that the longevity of software thingummies is inversely proportional to the length of time since the inception of computers themselves. Those Who Make Changes Just Because They Can (no names) will, I believe, never learn.

¹ I’ve used that term incorrectly, haven’t I? I never was any good at Latin. It might have helped if I’d actually paid attention in skool when Ubi Lane was trying to learn it to me. (Flashback: Ubi smacking me upside the head in class one day when he caught me reading a book² during class. I was so engrossed in it that I hadn’t noticed him sneaking up on me!)

² If memory serves, it was ‘The Moon is a Harsh Mistress‘³, by the late Robert A Heinlein.

³ Watching the movie of that book is on my bucket list. Of course, someone has to actually make it, first!

Thanks to Romain HUNEAU on Unsplash
for the ’61’ photo in the header

About peNdantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?, Just for laughs, Phlyarology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What makes the number 61 special?

  1. Anita Bowden says:

    If it’s a birthday, then I hope it is a very happy one! :-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s peculiar how some people attribute so much thought and meaning to a number. To me, a number is just that – a number.
    Fun quiz. I was miserable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pendantry says:

      Oh, good! … that you thought the quiz was fun. And: bad that you were miserable. Anything you care to share?

      As for ‘meaning’ for the number 61: it has no more meaning for me than any other number representing the number of circuits of the Sun I’ve made since I arrived. It was purely a hook upon which to hang a quiz, one that would hopefully entertain, and, who knows, perhaps even cheer up folks who were for some reason feeling a bit low :D

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Herb says:

    Happy Birthday! I got 50% on the quiz. The Moon is a Harsh Mistress was incredible. There are some of his titles I can read and re-read. That book is one and Have Spacesuit – Will Travel is another that pops into my head. Some titles not so much as others.

    Liked by 2 people

    • pendantry says:

      Ah, a fellow Heinlein fan! I think I’ve read (at least once) everything ‘the dean’ wrote.

      It’s been years, possibly decades, since I re-read ‘The Door Into Summer‘. I read that first as a teenager and remember being unable to fully connect with the main character, because he was so ‘old’ (hah!) compared to me; then there was the time I read it when he and I were the same age… and I’m now past the point at which, had I taken the ‘sleep’ myself at that time, I’d have woken up by now; yes, I really must read that one, once again.

      There are three of his books I’m reluctant to re-read, though; ‘The Number of The Beast’, ‘To Sail Into The Sunset’ and ‘The Cat Who Walks Through Walls’. When I read those, I felt RAH had lost his touch. But I can’t help remembering that teenager I used to be, and his failure to grok Dan Davis all those years ago….

      Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.