Not with a whimper, but with a bang

About peNdantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Climate, Communication, Drama, Education, Environment, History and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not with a whimper, but with a bang

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Excellent videos, Pendantry, for which many thanks. I shall save and link to interested parties.

    Like

  2. colinc says:

    I’m glad to see you have, at least temporarily(?), overcome your “funk” and returned to your post(ing) here! :) The top video, above, is a great catch, I’d not seen that before, and I thank you sincerely for posting it! There is amazement and wonder all around in “nature” for those willing to see (and looking in the “right” direction at the “right” time). However, seeing alone does not necessarily convey or instill understanding. I would imagine that most people viewing that footage will rightly note that that “berg” is NOT a coherent, solid chunk of ice, like the individual cubes in one’s cocktail, but a conglomeration of irregularly shaped and fractured “particles” of ice. Yet, how many of those will also realize that the berg, itself, is/was just one ” conglomeration of particles” from a much larger, equally fractured and “discontinuous,” conglomeration of ice particles? This latter query, of course, referring to the Greenland Ice Sheet, as a “whole,” or, perhaps, the ice sheet(s) of Antarctica. I wonder, too, how many will realize that the collapse seen in the video did NOT progress “linearly?” Ah, the even deeper, more profound “wonders” of related rates!! :)

    I also found it “interesting” that that video has been available for just under a year (I calculate 334 days on 2june2016) and, as such, has averaged only about 22.7 views per day and garnered a mere 6 comments, none older than 4 months. (Contrast that to “Gangnam Style,” by Psy, online for 1,417 days, averaging more than 1.8 million views/day and over 5 million comments. Weep not for an already “dead” species.) At least those 6 are fairly “reasonable,” unlike the comments to the second video, above, which, by and large, only exhibit such abject ignorance that words fail me. Regardless, it’s still great to see you back at “it,” pendantry! I hope your days (nights, too) are smooth and stress-free, filled with as much joy and merriment as you can muster!!

    Like

    • pendantry says:

      Thank you for the encouraging words, colinc. Regrettably, rumours of my emergence from my latest bout of depression are largely exaggerated, as I had thought was evident from the lack of words attached to the two videos (though I do have to admit that I was kind of hoping for some feedback as to what folks thought about the juxtaposition of the two… and thank you for your own input in that respect. Still holding back on my own thoughts, pending possible further cogitations from possible others… one lives in hope).

      Like

      • colinc says:

        You, sir, are more than welcome!! (Would that be akin to more than happy, an expression I’ve yet to fathom.) :) Anyway, pardon me while I wax in “your” vernacular, probably poorly, but the following might be “rather cheeky” of me. I say, pip-pip old chap, where’s that “stiff upper lip” your countrymen are always(?) lauding? After all, was it not “The Fab Four” who sang nothing to get hung about?!? Perhaps it MIGHT be more pertinent to quote from another moldie-oldie, life’s for livin’, yea, that’s [my] philosophy! (NB, admittedly there are more than a few “questionable” lyrics in that last one.) Put another way, paraphrasing Dean Martin(?), “every party has to end, sometime.” Of course, it MIGHT be “great” _IF_ the “future” could be viewed “more roseiler!” (You ever watch any “South Park?” Funniest shit, EVER!) However, I’m not at all sure that “things” could have been any different. Alas, as I’ve no doubt you’re well aware, there’s no going back, now! A particularly dismal “future” awaits regardless of any or all efforts to make it otherwise. “We” are all simultaneously “guilty” AND “innocent” of the causative factors, regardless of the “stories” we tell ourselves. Nonetheless, of equal “truth” and, perhaps MORE relevance is, neither you, nor I, or the people we love or care about are dead yet! Life’s for livin’, so, like the Nike ads purport, “just do it,” in any/every manner you deem “appropriate.”

        Like

  3. colinc says:

    I’ve now (10:17pm ET, 2june) TWICE tried to post a reply to your reply and… nothing! WTF? If one (or both) eventually “appear,” please, feel free to remove any redundancy along with this comment. If neither “appear” by “dinner time” on 3june2016, I’ll try again.

    Like

    • colinc says:

      Well, isn’t THAT special?! Could it be “Satan?” Maybe “the system” won’t “allow” me to “reply” to your “reply!” So, after this “reply” I’ll try my earlier “reply” as a “new” comment. See, there’s ALWAYS something “new” to laugh, groan or cry about. It’s all about options, choices and probabilities. ;) (Note, please, don’t hesitate to delete/remove anything I post at your ultimate discretion.)

      Like

      • pendantry says:

        Your earlier comment got hung up in ‘moderation’ because you’d included more than one hyperlink. I hear your frustration about computer systems; they can often behave inscrutably. Interestingly, I can’t currently see the comment I’m replying to here… maybe it will reappear, maybe it won’t; perhaps it’s beholden to Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle, being both here and not here at the same time?

        Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.