Asynchronicity: Or, what constitutes a ‘timely’ response?

An alien, with hand raised: subtitled 'Talk to the hand'

The Internet: facilitating miscommunication at the speed of light since the late twentieth century – Me

One thing that the Internet has brought along in its wake is ubiquitous asynchronous communication. The Internet is based on computer systems; and though that term is often defined in that context, I’m not talking about the way computers talk to each other; I’m referring to asynchronous human communication, also known as computer-mediated communication (CMC) – I recommend following that Wikipedia link since it contains much of what I want to say.

Throughout almost the entirety of human history, we’ve mostly spoken with each other face to face. One talks; the other responds. Sometimes one interrupts the other. Quite naturally, we came to accept this as the norm. In such interactions, much of the message is passed in non-verbal cues such as facial expressions and hand movements. And these, too, were the norm.

The invention of writing introduced asynchronous communication, but for a long time it was very limited, being practised only by those with the skill.

As literacy blossomed, snail mail (asynchronous) allowed many to become familiar with the idea of having to wait, sometimes a considerable time, for a response. And perhaps there might be no response at all; so one could never be sure that one’s message had even been received.

Then came telephony, one facet of which was the telephone (synchronous); but there were also telegrams, which were like snail mail in that they were one-way, with no automatic acknowledgement of receipt.

The Internet has brought with it a variety of forms of communication, each with a varying amount of synchronicity. And, more recently, communication via video has come within the reach of anyone with a dumbphone (which currently includes about half the population of the planet).

A great deal has been written about the often perfidious nature of asynchronous communication. Smileys (emoticons) can’t replace facial expressions. Nor can tone of voice be transmitted. And because these things are so deeply ingrained within us, much miscommunication ensues, especially with those unfamiliar with the technology (many’s the time my mother, bless her, has sent me an email and then almost immediately asked me in person whether I got it and what I thought of it).

Nobody likes to think they’re being ignored; it’s ingrained within us to expect a response, and it can be disconcerting if none is forthcoming. But what constitutes a ‘timely’ response in asynchronous communication? A minute? A day? A week? I have myself, on occasion, browsed through comments on old blog posts here on Wibble and have ‘necroposted‘ (and have sometimes been berated for doing so); but if the conversation is still valid, where’s the harm in it?

Man with head up his backside‘Speaking’ of blog posts, there are a couple of problems with these. One is the issue with mistakenly hitting the wrong ‘Reply’ link, and having one’s comment appear in an inappropriate location in the thread. Another is that sometimes it’s not clear where one ought to respond to a comment – this is especially true of ‘reblogs’ of another’s post, where there might be multiple threads on the same topic on different blogs.

I lost a virtual friend once, through deleting one such duplicated comment here on Wibble, and replacing it with a link to the duplicate on another blog. My erstwhile friend was outraged by what he perceived as my abuse of his freedom of speech :(

Of course, in all forms of communication it helps immensely to have a clear idea in mind of the message one wishes to impart. A case in point: much like my previous post, I’ve really got no idea where I’m going with this :)

… but, thank you for ‘listening’! Over to you…

About peNdantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?, Communication, Computers and Internet, Core thought, Phlyarology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Asynchronicity: Or, what constitutes a ‘timely’ response?

  1. Interestingly, I’d never thought about it from this angle before. While reading this article, I couldn’t help recalling those many occasions when I would use emojis in my text and the other person would misunderstand me because of the emojis that I used. Or those times when I wouldn’t use any emojis and people would assume I was angry or something.

    I could talk about the many times when I would be chatting with someone via email and how, because of the way they ended their email, I wouldn’t know whether or not they were expecting a reply.

    The truth is, in spite of all the ‘expressive’ features (emoticons, stickers, etc) that most forms of communication have today, asynchronous forms of communication will never really be as reciprocal (for lack of a better word) as their synchronous counterparts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arbie says:

    My fear of people thinking I am being rude or unkind has led to many of my comments being filled with exclamation marks or “haha”. I even struggle with using “lol” because it always sounds sarcastic or it makes me suspicious that it’s being said without even a smile when written to me! I take replying only with words way too seriously, so I usually shy away from it. But, with apps like Whatsapp showing when messages are read or when you were last online, I instead just seem rude! Can’t win in this social media/social appery 1984, I tell ya. We’re all doomed! “lol” … ahahaha. Despite how much I prefer to hermit in my own world, I much prefer talking to someone’s face than having to play emotion guessing game with their words on a screen. You write good rambles.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So pleased to read… and know you understand…. AND you along with all my other commentors were not being ignored… Just pending till I found the energy to return….. Big Smiles… and thank you for pointing me here. <3

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hariod Brawn says:

    ‘. . . one could never be sure that one’s message had even been received.’

    Sorry!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jeff Cann says:

    Oh gosh. I’m constantly necroposting. I never hear anything back, but like you said, I had something valid to add… When I was a kid, I saw a movie where two people played chess by mailing their next move to one another. Games took months. I thought this was the coolest thing. I couldn’t wait until I got older and had someone to do that with. Which of course I never did. It’s interesting how we’ve moved away from synchronous communication (telephone calls) to texting. Perhaps it’s innately more comfortable to be asynchronous. I know it is for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • peNdantry says:

      I’ve long had a preference for written communication, as I feel that it affords me more time to consider my choice of words. (As I’m only human, I don’t always get it right.) The big drawback is that, in my experience at least, there are sloppy readers as well as sloppy writers (and ‘txting’ doesn’t help with that!); the result is, sadly, misunderstandings.

      I toyed with ‘play by mail’ gaming when I was a teenager, but I didn’t enjoy it much (too young, too impatient!) More recently, I discovered Shredder Chess: it has a variety of ‘play speeds’, one of which is ‘correspondence’ for a more laid-back pace (though games tend to take days, rather than months). My handle on there is ‘snafu’ if you want to look me up. I haven’t played in years; thanks for reminding me about it.

      Peculiar coincidences are happening to me all the time at present. Another right here is that I watched Blade Runner (again) just the other night, and I’m reminded of the scene in that in which the ending of the Immortal Game is played out…

      I couldn’t wait until I got older and had someone to do that with. Which of course I never did.

      *doubletake* How did you manage to not get older? Neat trick; can you teach it to me, please? ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jeff Cann says:

        Haha. When I wrote that, I recognized that ‘sloppy writing’ but yesterday was a crazy long day. Too worn out to fix it. BTW, not only did I not get older, but I never got into chess either. It just seemed like a cool thing to do.

        Liked by 1 person

        • peNdantry says:

          Oh, bugger, I do hope you’re not offended. I very much enjoy humorous wordplay, and simply couldn’t resist :)

          I find ‘the game of kings’ fascinating. I’m assuming from what you say that you don’t know how to play (forgive me if that’s wrong)… It doesn’t take long to learn the basics, but as you’re probably aware it can take a lifetime to master. (I know I never will!)

          Waitaminnit: “not only did I not get older”? I insist that you spill the beans on your immortality secret!

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Jeff Cann says:

    Also I don’t really get offended about anything.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.