Have I been pwned?

Pwned‘, in case you’re not aware, is a ‘leetspeak’ slang term derived from the verb ‘own’, as meaning to appropriate or to conquer to gain ownership. The term implies domination or humiliation of a rival, and is used primarily in video game culture to taunt an opponent who has just been soundly defeated (e.g., “You just got pwned!”)

In the context of this short wibblette, I’m using it to refer to having had one of my online systems compromised in one way or another.

And the answer to the question is ‘yes’: I was recently advised by haveibeenpwned.com that the main email account I rely on may have had its password snatched. I wasn’t alone: I was in the company of some 700+ million other folk. So I did what anyone should do in such a situation: I immediately changed the password for that account. Hopefully, I’m now safe, for a while, from having my email ‘hacked‘.

If you want to check whether you too may have been ‘pwned’, I recommend you take a quick trip to haveibeenpawned.com to check out your own online systems.

Here’s hoping you never get hacked.

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?, Communication, Computers and Internet, Education, Phlyarology, Strategy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have I been pwned?

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Cheers Pendantry. 🙂

I'd love to hear what your views are!

