Why no-one talks about the Wayback Machine any more

logo_wayback_210x77Well, to be totally frank, I’m not sure very many people ever did talk about the Wayback Machine (also known as ‘The Internet Archive’).

In fact, I can’t recall ever having talked about it myself. Which is kind of odd, really, because over the years I’ve resorted to it on a number of occasions.

Linkrot really ought to be a dirty word.

It’s one of the ironies of the information age that so little attention is given to ensuring the longevity of a web address. You’d think that those who post information onto this world wide web thingy would value their words more, and try to give them some longevity. But no: given the choice of leaving existing, useful content where it is or sprucing it up a bit, they’ll all too often choose the latter, and in the process, they might even give it a brand spanking new domain name, too (and without even bothering to leave a forwarding address).

A Kerbal from the Kerbal Space ProgramCould it be that folk don’t fully understand the underlying technology? (Surely not! I’m told it’s not rocket science.) Maybe they just don’t value their own content?

Perhaps it’s simply another symptom of our throwaway society.

Anyway, I digress… I had reason to refer back to an earlier wibblette (to wit, Marcus Brigstocke’s excellent rant against climate change deniers), and I noticed that some images were missing. Yes, you guessed it: linkrot had begun to set in. So I spent a little time with the Wayback Machine to repair some of the damage. And, having done so, I thought I’d talk a little about the trusty ol’ Internet Archive.

Since nobody else seems to.

And now, having done that*, I’ll toddle off and donate a few of my hard-earned pennies to this non-profit organization as a ‘thank you’ for their years of unfailing service (and cross my fingers and hope that it’ll still be around long into the future).

* Wait, what do you mean, “I didn’t”? Well, good grief, I’ve given you links — what more do you need? πŸ˜‰

(Headline courtesy of Portent’s Content Idea Generator. Thanks!)

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Communication, Computers and Internet, Education, History, memetics, Phlyarology, Science, Strategy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why no-one talks about the Wayback Machine any more

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Good to see you back here again sir!

  2. Hi My friend.. I came across a few of my own Linkrots the other day as I saw old video links removed.. And Like Hariod said.. Good to see you back. πŸ™‚

    • pendantry says:

      Hi Sue. Yes, I noticed that a few video clips here on Wibble have gone walkies as well. Can’t blame the Wayback Machine for only storing text from way back when, since it doesn’t take up very much storage space. I think they’d need a few more pennies than I have to allow them to archive video, too! I guess we just have to live with that. But who knows what the future holds?

  3. It’s ironic. I was just thinking to myself this morning it had been a while since I’d seen one of your posts and boom here is one. Guess I was wondering if the link had gone dead.

  4. I’m glad you ‘re back here for posterity. Yes, flighty links and all our airy pages. As a party poet I say: paper, parchement stone and clay have come a long long way……………………………………..

I'd love to hear what your views are!

