Change: solar, IPCC and Bundy

Cartoon depicting how the fossoil industry would be tempted to claim that solar power is infeasible -- because it doesn't own the sun. Loses a lot in translation :/

All your base are belong to us

I saw this cartoon on Peter Sinclair’s Crock of the Week, and it tickled me. It only sort of half fits the theme of this post, which is change — or rather, resistance to it; reluctance to do it, and the importance of making the right changes.

Adapting to the theme, instead of me pontificating I’m going to chicken out and leave the subject as an exercise for you, Dear Reader, to ponder, and instead, I’ll change… the subject.

Can I ask you to consider signing my recently-approved HM Government e-petition to rename the Independent Police Complaints Commission to remove confusion over ‘IPCC’? It’s a small change, but I believe it’s an important one. The petition would need 100,000 signatures for it to get debated in the House of Commons, so if you have any spare minor miracles, I’d appreciate one.

Moving on… another item I discovered just this morning is a real item of ‘news’ in the US, and one that doesn’t seem to have impinged on the radar of the UK’s mass infotainment industry (which seems obsessed by lost aeroplanes and capsized ferries — I can’t grok what message they’re trying to push). The key phrase for more information is “Bundy Ranch”. I don’t know much about the ins and outs, but this video seems to provide a good overview, and many interesting insights (hat tip to LadyBlueRose and Tales from the World). I hope that if there is to be a new American Revolution, it’s a bloodless one and that the good guys win…

Consider this: Remember back in 2011 when riot police swooped in to brutally crush the Occupy movement? Remember how you felt? No one stood up for them. No one fought back. And what was the result? The thugs won; media quickly switched to a new distraction — and the public forgot.

One of my more chaotic blogglings, I fear. No tick-vg gold star for me today.

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?, Business, Capitalism, Culture, Drama, Economics, Education, Energy, Environment, memetics, News and politics, Phlyarology, Strategy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Change: solar, IPCC and Bundy

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    Of course, solar power is not feasible – any dummy would know that!

    • pendantry says:

      Well spotted. Dummies, naturally, have no need of energy-that’s-free-at-point-of-sale. If they saw any on offer, they’d just stand there gawping at it. If they could see — which, of course, they can’t. Oh dear, I’m rambling.

  2. I like your cartoon find… Yes thats why everyone at the moment is door-knocking asking if you want ‘Free Solar panels’.. when you enquire you find the panels are NOT Free.. It reminds me of when everyone was getting double glazing… to save energy… The difference with the Sun everyone is now wanting to cash in on it.. while the consumer will still be paying for the panels.. πŸ™‚ of course..
    The Budy Ranch I have been following and thumbs up to those guys for standing up for their rights and to the rough shod way they were being rode over.. It also showed how the Media coverage was absent in censorship too… So thumbs up for the social media which got this story out and got people all fired up for the support of Buddy ranch..
    And yes I will click to add my one vote for your collection Wibble.. πŸ™‚
    Sue

    • pendantry says:

      Thank you so much for dropping by, Sue, lovely to ‘see’ you.

      Hearing someone offering something for free always triggers my bullshit reflex: TANSTAAFL. The incredible irony here is that solar energy is free for the taking; the mistake we’re making is that we’re taking it in the wrong way — by burning, in a few short decades, our planet’s store of fossil fuel that took millions of years to accumulate. <rant>Fossoil is not, as some claim, an ‘energy source’. The source is our sun: fossoil is a merely an energy store.</rant>

      In recent years I feel I’ve come to appreciate why the ancient Egyptian civilization worshipped the sun god — and to wonder whether they had devised any means, unknown to us, of taking advantage of the mana offerings from RA, and to dream of the possibility that we might one day find evidence of such magic/ technology buried somewhere under the shifting sands of North Africa…

      P.S. So you’re the other signatory on my little offering to try to make things better if only in a small way? Thank you ever so much! Only 99,998 more signatures needed … πŸ™‚

  3. penpusherpen says:

    Know thine enemy… Pendantry, slippery fella’s an’ no mistake. Signed the epetition, but waiting for the email confirmation link thingy..,.. they say it might take a while…. and I always hope the good guys win, I close my eyes and wish….O_o xPenx.

  4. Signed the petition… and like Pen awaiting the confirmation.. πŸ™‚ xxx

  5. John Crapper says:

    After watching the video I was just a little ticked off too. I doubt seriously if this is any kind of spark to begin the awakening of America. Reed is not anywhere close to one of my favorite politicians. I call him Mr. Whimpey and I have no doubt he is corrupt as our 99% of our crop of them. I strive to think “environment first” over all else. I personally think pollitics is becoming more and more irrelevant to our environmental struggles and becoming more and more of a waste of time to try and affect change through that avenue.

    Attacking the money flow is more feasible but not by much. Divesting from fossil foolish projects and redirecting those dollars into non-polluting renewable projects. In this case, you’ve got a reduction in cattle grazing (good for environment) and a building of a solar plant (good for the environment. A redirection of the money flow away from a damaging environmental endeavor into an environmentally friendly endeavor. That kind of corruption I can live with because corruption has always been and will always be. Maybe it’s encouraging corrupted people to do the right things for the environment while lining the pockets of their relatives and friends at the same time is what we have to work towards.

    Just call my cynical.

    P.S. My exposure to the mindset of people living in Nevada in no way leads me to believe that any sort of awakening is bubbling up from that neck of the woods, either.

    PSS: The most important one act any individual can do to impact their personal carbon footprint on the planet is to eat less meat besides, of course, refraining from having their own children.

    PSSS: And the most important mental exercise any individual can do to impact their “state of mind” is to mitigate their over-inflated ego and come to the realization that their shit actually does stink. Accepting this one fact will go a long way to living a truly sustainable life.

    http://holyshitters.com/category/about/

    • pendantry says:

      I doubt seriously if this is any kind of spark to begin the awakening of America.

      I hear you. I’m more intrigued by the ways in which the mass media in different locales generate different world views, and am glad that we still have this Internet thing, mostly uncensored, for the time being, anyway (at least, it is where I sit). (Or, rather: I believe that I’m not being censored; but how can one ever be certain? It’s an almost metaphysical question.)

      I watched Shadows of Liberty a few days ago — an eye opener, and a worrying one if the tentacles of those who control traditional media manage to improve their foothold here (which is possibly inevitable, given the inexorable march of corporatocracy).

    • pendantry says:

      I didn’t know that. Though I think that one person’s ‘freedom fighter’ is another’s ‘terrist’. I really don’t know enough about the situation (largely by dint of British lack of media coverage of it, leading to nobody here including it in their daily gossip) to have an opinion.

    • pendantry says:

      “Jon Stewart Tears into Sean…” This video is no longer available due to a copyright claim by Viacom International Inc.

      A search on YouTube for “Jon Stewart Tears into Sean…” offers the following video which might or might not be the one to which you’re referring. I only listened as far as this quote, which is rich in irony, considering how all of civilization is only allowed to function because raw materials are stolen from our home planet and our own future:

      Yeah, most goods are cheaper when you steal the raw materials necessary to make them.

      Just as rich is the bottled laughter accompanying everything, cluing in the listener on whose side to be on, and making me wonder where, if anywhere, the truth lies (emphasis on the ‘lies’).

      More shades of Shadows of Liberty.

  6. witsendnj says:

    I have to admit, there hasn’t been this much comic potential since Sarah Palin went back to Alaska! http://www.alternet.org/tea-party-and-right/watch-mark-fiores-hilarious-animation-cliven-bundys-hypocritical-home-range

  7. Have a read of the world we made – Alex Mcay’s Story 2050, by Jonathan Porritt. It provides an historical look at the planet from 2050 and it gives the good, the bad and the ugly. There are energy wars, internet wars, fights over water, education has improved and creativity is better valued. I think this book moves us away from the blame game and shows a future that we can all get to mess around in…

    • pendantry says:

      Thanks for the recommendation, though to me the book sounds more like fantasy than fiction, because the window in which we could ditch our addiction to fossil fuels in time to avoid the runaway greenhouse is closing fast — if indeed it isn’t already nailed shut.

I'd love to hear what your views are!

