Laughter in the dawn

I woke up laughing this morning.

That doesn’t happen often enough for my liking. Every other time has been a bittersweet experience: hilarity, followed quickly by puzzlement (with a dash of embarrassment when not sleeping solo) made worse by having nobody to whom to turn to explain the joke (i.e., not even me).

This morning was a first: The reason I was laughing was that I’d told myself a joke in my sleep. And I remembered the joke. And a not-quite first was that, for a change, I decided to leap out of bed and put (virtual) pen to paper so as to pre-empt the ‘I Had A Great Dream But I Forget What It Was’ syndrome.

The joke went like this:

   A lapsed former skydiving addict
   arrives in The Afterlife.

   Under a sign reading
   'New Arrivals' stands a
   spirit with the nametag
   'Future Advisor'.

   NEW ARRIVAL
   'Hi... ?'

   FUTURE ADVISOR
   'I have some good news...
   and I have some bad news."

   NEW ARRIVAL
   'Let's hear it!'

   FUTURE ADVISOR
   'Next time, the landing
   won't be quite as soft.'

/me trundles off wondering whether:

  1. anyone will be brave enough to own up to not getting it
  2. pre-empting (1) with an explanation now would be a) kinder or b) an exercise in futility
  3. this is actually a new joke, or some variant of one I’ve heard before
  4. this is evidence that my mind is finally becoming unhinged because such a feeble jape clearly did not warrant the accompanying gigglefest

Morals:

  1. don’t let my subconscious make up jokes (please!)
  2. maybe it is better to roll over and go back to sleep after all
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?, Just for laughs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what your views are!

