Size matters not. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmmm?

“Today must be a Thursday. I never could get the hang of Thursdays,” said Dentarthur Dent. Douglas Adams’ bathrobe-encrusted antihero had always felt that there was something not quite right about the universe; an indefinable something that had a disturbing tendency to slip from his mind in exactly the same way that fish don’t.

Me, I’ve often felt the same way. The other day, I was reminded of this feeling again on my latest visit to Nick Palmer’s Sustainability and Stuff blog, where I found —

The Answer!

This answer isn’t the product of 6 and 9 (not even in base 13). It’s much simpler than that, but then, this particular answer doesn’t resolve the nature of any universes; it merely has the potential to address the tribulations of a bunch of bipedal ape-descendants that only recently figured out that their world wasn’t, after all, the centre of their own universe.

It’s about growth, you see. Growth of the economic kind. But then, you’ll already know that if you’ve followed the link above (which I urge you to do before I start trying to recall snippets of Vogon poetry). I’m reminded of an earlier post I wrote in a futile attempt to explain to a dummy that perpetual growth is not good.

The Answer! (<- spot blatant repeat link, just in case you missed the one above) links through to an organisation called CASSE, the Centre for the Advancement of the Steady State Economy. That’s a bit of a mouthful, but fortunately their website address (steadystate.org) is easy to remember. The one thing that surprises me about CASSE is that I’ve never heard of it before, and that is something that is most definitely wrong with our universe; one thing that’s definitely right is that CASSE has been awarded Treehugger’s Best of Green 2011 award. In my opinion — yes, I know it doesn’t count —steadystate.org (<- oops) should be shouted from the rooftops. Just don’t ask me to do it (I have a sore throat).

Righty-ho. I’ve waffled on more than enough. But then hopefully you’re not here any more, you’ve gone on to better things. I keep my fingers crossed that we all will.

Oh, freddled gruntbuggly/Thy micturations are to me/

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Size matters not. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmmm?

  1. Pingback: A response to an eco-humynist manifesto for the 21st century | Wibble

  2. Pingback: Unsustainable Muse | Wibble

I'd love to hear what your views are!

