And now for something completely different

Over the years, I haven’t often voted.
Elections always seemed to be a two-horse race (with both horses equally bad).
I rationalised my decision not to vote by convincing myself that I was making a choice, and ‘sending a message’.
 
I was aligning myself with all those others who don’t see that anything will really change, no matter who’s in charge.
The reality is that there are far more non-voters than voters in any election.
 
Those who don’t vote are in the majority.
 
Just imagine what might happen if, suddenly, all those voices were raised together in protest…
 
Our democratic system is flawed, but it’s the only game in town.
Go stick your cross in a box on 6 May 2010. Any box.
 
 
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And now for something completely different

  1. Catherine says:

    I haven\’t voted for years either. They are all as bad as each other. It\’s a pity that the Monster Raving Looney Party still isn\’t around lol xx

  2. Sparkles says:

    My sentiments entirely.. I’ve never voted either…Jen. xxx

I'd love to hear what your views are!

