How to explain to a dummy that perpetual growth is not good

 
If you’re no dummy, take a look at a more scientific explanation…
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to explain to a dummy that perpetual growth is not good

  1. Chatty says:

    I’m a dummy, nice hampster :).Seriously tho, makes you stop and think……..

  2. Chatty says:

    Growth is inevitable as the world population grows. Therein lies the problem methinks, population growth. People have basic needs, and even if we take out all the consumerism, if the whole world was equally fed and watered that’s a heck of a lot of food and drink.It’s part of a wider society sickness though, called WANT. Hands up how many of you took a short haul holiday this year. Or last year. Or both. Not me, I don’t have a passport. My carbon footprint doesn’t involve burning a bigger hole in the ozone layer with aviation fuel. I am guilty of ‘lesser’ wants. Not needs. My life won’t stop if I can’t use the internet. It would stop if I had no food. Maybe not for a long time ;/ but nonetheless. But I WANT the internet. And in order to have that facility a company has made me a PC. Lots of other people also want PCs, and upgrades and a spare PC for when Granny visits. All using resources, demand and consumer desire for bigger, better PCs driving companies to expand in order to be able to finance Research and Development and production of even more PCs.Solution? I truly don’t know. maybe we should just give the PCs to that hampster…

  3. Pendantry says:

    Hi Chatty 🙂

    Yep, population is part of the problem. Did you see my earlier post ‘ten doublings‘?

    Me? I didn’t take a short haul holiday this year. Nor last year. Can’t, I’ve vowed never to fly again.Point of correction: the ozone hole is no longer a problem. Science identified that chlorofluorocarbons (AKA CFCs) were eating that. The politicians put roolz in place to sort the problem, and it’s sorted. Mostly. Though Tescos still has yet to explain when it’s going to do something about its huge stock of environmentally unfriendly freezers. As I recall the ‘free market’ contributed bugger all to the solution, it was all done by Those We Vote In To Lead Us making a good decision based on scientific fact. For a change.

    Sorry, I digress a bit.Yes, ‘wants.’ They’re the real problem. Have you seen The Story of Stuff?

  4. Pingback: Size matters not. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmmm? | Wibble

I'd love to hear what your views are!

