Update on the Dvorak front

It’s been over year since I last ran Stamina (I’ve been busy, that’s my excuse). I reached 50 wpm and left it at that, thinking it would be good enough (and, it has been).
 
Today I saw Stamina’s icon on the desktop, and it sort of beckoned to me, and I thought ‘why not, I could do with a little bit of being burped and farted at again’ (you’ll have to try Stamina yourself to see why I’d think that, I’m not going to explain!).
 
I clicked on the icon with a little trepidation. I figured that, although my work keeps me at the keyboard several hours a day, I’d be bound to have lost some speed. It was quite a surprise to find that I hadn’t.
 

(As I’ve been seriously stung recently by misinterpreting graphs that had a missing label on one axis, I’ll point out that the x-axis is seconds – ie this run was ten minutes – and the y axis is words per minute (where a ‘word’ is five characters). If you don’t know which is the x and which the y, I’d recommend the mnemonic ‘wise up: x is a cross.’)

So, I haven’t lost my touch. But… I will say this: although I don’t regret switching to the Dvorak layout, I do find it quite awkward trying to use someone else’s computer… the keys are all in the wrong places. Having said that, though… everyone’s computer is different anyway, the keyboard is just one part of the equation.

Oh, look, I got a 52wpm record a while back. Hmm… wonder if I can beat that…

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what your views are!

