We’ve come a long way…

… so they say.
 
Come January, the USA
will have a President
who’s black.
 
Hurray.
 
Some say that this shows
that racial segregation
has gone away.
 
Personally, I don’t see
that much progress
has been made:
the defining feature
of the US’s President Elect
is
that
he’s
‘black.’
 
(I have to wonder:
would he have won
if he weren’t?).
 
We’ll have truly come far
when nobody notices
there’s a difference.
At the end of the day
there isn’t one.
 
Dunno about you,
but I’m just
another human.
Like you.
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’ve come a long way…

  1. . says:

    That’s a nice sentiment, Colin. In fact, that’s a great sentiment. But I have to say – and I’m speaking as a black American expat who’s lived in the UK for the past 7 years – that it don’t work that way in the US if you’re black. Sadly, race matters in the US, so Obama’s election was and is a monumental moment for the US. Maybe now the land of my birth will truly have a chance to heal the racial divide which has existed from time immemorial, not to mention improving its image abroad. I can honestly say in the 7 years I’ve lived here, only two racial comments were made to me, as opposed to the numerous anti-America sentiments that were expressed to me in pubs.
     
    Have a lovely evening.  🙂
     

  2. Peach says:

    As a Chanese,I appreciate all .Obama is an attractive man in my sight.No matter ‘black’ or ‘white’.

    I am looking forward to his action on world peace especially on Middle East and other relationship .

I'd love to hear what your views are!

