Obsessed, much?

I’ve finally hit one milestone I’ve been aiming for – 40 words a minute. Progress during the last couple of weeks has been rather erratic, as you can see from the graph.

Now I think I need to concentrate on improving my accuracy – this currently varies from 3% to 9%, pretty erratic, and when typing ‘freestyle’ – not copy-typing – I’m making far too much use of the backspace key.

I can now personally vouch for the fact that this layout is indeed far more comfortable to use than QWERTY. An additional benefit over and above the ergonomic improvement provided by the layout itself is that since I’ve been learning touch-typing with it – in order to learn it as fast as possible – I’m now touch-typing instead of hunting-and-pecking, so my posture at the computer is better.

I am still finding that it’s not yet ‘transparent,’ by which I mean that the process of transferring thoughts out of my brain via the keyboard isn’t yet as automatic as it used to be. After thirty years’ practise using a badly-shaped hammer to drive in nails, I guess you get used to the shape. But – it’s coming

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obsessed, much?

  1. Lo says:

    40 is pretty good! Glad to know. Hope you are otherwise well, also.xxLo

  2. Sally Ann says:

    Accuracy be far more important than speed young man. Same as with hexing.
     
    Now, back to your practising and no wibbling or you\’ll be hearing from yer lovin\’ Aunty Hetty.
     
    H xx

I'd love to hear what your views are!

