The Hunt For The £ That ANSI Forgot

Day Four.
 
Lesson 25 of 29 of A Basic Course in Dvorak. Almost at the end of the course: I would have finished it today, were it not for yesterday’s discovery and the ensuing hunt for my missing ‘£’. Incidentally, the first place I found it wasn’t the best: Arjen van Kol’s Dvorak international extended keyboard layout, although it’s a terrific, multi-functional, multi-lingual layout, isn’t the best for Brits.
 
I found a layout over at keyboards.jargon-file.org, quaintly labelled "United Kingodom-Dvorak". Note the typo. I almost missed it, scrolling down the list. It’s at times like this that I bless my typo-spotting curse; I wasn’t even looking for a UK-Dvorak layout, but this typo leaped out at me and jumped up and down, shouting "Coooooeeeee!".
 
"Did you mean to search for: United Kingdom-Dvorak?" Google asks: well, yes, Mr. Paperclipson, except that in this case I DO actually want to search for "United Kingodom-Dvorak" coz some klutz’s speelchucker got broke.
 
What makes the United Kingdom-Dvorak layout better for Brits than Arjen Van Kol’s International one is that UK-Dvorak puts the £ back where it belongs, on SHIFT+3. There’s a € symbol too, on Ctrl+Alt+4 – exactly where this keyboard I’m using shows it to be – so I’m "€uro-ready" as a bonus 🙂 Check out the attached image.
 
If you’re interested (and I guess if you’re not you probably clicked off a long way back) these layouts are compatible with Win XP and 2000; I don’t know about Vista and other Windozes.
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what your views are!

