HEY! Who stole my # sign? I mean, my #… ah… buggrit!

On Monday, my friend (whose ear I’ve been bending all weekend about the benefits of the Dvorak layout) says to me, "so, when did you switch to this fantastic ‘old-new’ layout you’ve been frothing about?"
 
"Ah, well, ah, ummm," I dithered. "Well, ummm… it’s like this. Although I can appreciate the theoretical benefits, and because I know that I CAN do it, anytime I want to, there’s really ah… I mean, I’ve got all this writing I need to ummm…"
 
So on Tuesday I stopped being a procrastinating hypocrite.
 
I put a hold on converting keyboards from QWERTY, grabbed one of my own conversions – and for the last three days I’ve been totally QWERTY-free.
 
I’ve completed 23 of the 29 lessons in Dan Wood’s A Basic Course in Dvorak. The few emails I’ve HAD to respond to I’ve written using ‘hunt-and-peck’ – looking at the keyboard – because touch-typing is simply too painfully slow.
 
If I had one of those obsolete QWERTYs in front of me instead of my Dvorak then there is not the proverbial snowball’s chance in hell I would have got this far. Even now, though I know that the Dvorak is better, and I can already feel my speed improving, the temptation to revert to QWERTY is intense.
 
Typing these days is synonymous with communicating: for three days, I’ve felt as though my mouth has been taped shut. After three days, I’m beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel; an edge of the tape has lifted, and it’s being ever-so-slowly ripped away. Oh, if only there were a way to tear the whole thing off at once!
 
And then, just a short while ago, I hit a snag: I had a need to hit SHIFT-3.
 
Unless you’re in the UK, you possibly won’t recognise the significance. If you’re in a land whose currency symbol is on SHIFT-4, you have no problem.
 
Can anyone say ‘irony’? How about ‘moronic stupidity’?
 
The Dvorak Simplified Keyboard Layout is a layout specifically optimised for the English Language.
 
English is my mother tongue.
I live in England.
I AM English!
I need a pound sign.
HELP!
 
[edit: phew. Panic over. Solution: Dvorak international extended keyboard layout_ by Arjen van Kol. Not ideal, but it solves the problem: SHIFT + AltGr + 4 now gives me my ‘£’ – and, hey, I’ve even got a ‘€’ now, too!]
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what your views are!

