Teaching an old dog new tricks…

… isn’t impossible – I’m proving that – but it also isn’t easy.
 
It’s the end of Day Two.
 
I’m using one of my home-spun Dvorak keyboards, and I’m up to lesson 12 of A Basic Course in Dvorak. Yep – I’m retraining my fingers to touch-type, because I want to get back up to speed as fast as possible; learning how to type all over again feels like trying to have a conversation with duct tape over my mouth. (I suspect that some of my friends would rank that as an improvement.)
 
My average speed, although better than yesterday, is still painfully slow. The difference to the QWERTY layout is marked: some letter combinations slip out effortlessly; I can already tell that, once my fingers have learned the keys, typing is going to be a good deal easier than ever before.
 
One odd thing: I’m having particular trouble with ‘n’ and ‘o’ – on the Dvorak, these sit on the ‘home row’, under the third finger of each hand. If I don’t pay attention, they tend to get switched. Maybe my subconscious is trying to tell me something? ("NO NO NO NO"?)
 
I guess I just need more practice…
 
on on on on on on on 🙂
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teaching an old dog new tricks…

  1. Lo says:

    Best of luck with it – while I’m intrigued by it, I’d have to switch back and forth between Qwerty and Dvorak between work and home and fear ending up simply muddled with both. …As for smoking … considering how long and how many times I did it ‘socially’ (e.g., usually whilst some degree of pissed) it’s a wonder I don’t have the habit. Luck and chance, rather than will; I haven’t had any at all since illness a while back where simply breathing required effort and concentration (had nasty thick stuff in lungs); following that I never wanted to do anything that might contribute, however nominally, to breathing difficulties. Fighting to feel the air turn inside will put the proper fear in one! Best of luck with that as well …xxLo

I'd love to hear what your views are!

