Thought for the day

The Past:
Essential,
Evanescent,
Enlightening;
A futile dwelling place.

The Future:
Potent,
Possible,
Potential;
An eventual resting place.

The Present:
Fact,
Focus,
Forceful;
A place of power.

The past has gone;
The future beckons;
Nothing exists but now.

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in consciousness, Core thought, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thought for the day

  1. Cynical says:

    Drat!  You even do poetry/deep thoughts better than I can manage.  I’ll blame it on old age, especially because short term memory is being troublesome this morning.  Oh.  Right.  I was going to agree with you about poetry being very subjective until I saw yours which expresses a basic existential principle in very understandable yet artistic terms.  What to do now?  *Wanders off into the distance scratching his head.*
     
    Peace, Doc 

  2. Polly says:

    Think the cynical psychologist has said it all – captured perfectly.
    Polly 

  3. Chatty says:

    The future starts WHEN?
    Love it 🙂 

  4. Polly says:

    Hi Colin,
    Thanks for dropping by.
    Now I’m beginning to see why the future never happens, if we’re always stuck in the present.
     
    Enjoy your weekend.
    Polly 

  5. penelope says:

     HI, I SIMPLY LOVE YOUR PEOTRY DARLING. PEN X

  6. jane says:

    Like it

  7. Cynical says:

    "What do I know?" you asked in your comment.  In my (possibly biased) opinion, lots.  Especially if you like my haiku.  I will admit to the belief that maybe about 10% are good, but am not convinced that the proverbial roomful of monkeys and typewriters couldn’t do better.  At least they are meaningful to me, and thus have served the purpose I had in mind when writing them.  Thanks for the ego boost, though.  Old people like that.
    Peace, Doc

  8. Pingback: The illusion of free will | Wibble

I'd love to hear what your views are!

