The live prey tells…

<mode type="rant" action="engage">
 
Shop at Tescos, ‘Every little helps’, they say.
 
Shop at Tescos on-line. Their checkout system works fine, they’ve obviously tested it thoroughly. It works flawlessly: until…
 
… you get to the checkout and you get a warning that some items you’ve placed in your virtual shopping trolley will be delivered after the expiry date on those BOGOFs and half-price deals that suckered you into placing the order for them in the first place.
 
At this point you’re offered a choice of options, the first of which is ‘continue checkout anyway’, and the last (what a surprise) is ‘remove these items from your basket’.
 
Which all sounds fine, until
 
… you actually choose ‘remove these items’ – and find that it doesn’t work.
 
It doesn’t do what it says on the tin. The items aren’t removed; and because life’s too short, you’re tempted to ‘continue checkout anyway’ and pay double for stuff that, if you thought about it, you didn’t really want in the first place anyway.
 
Plausible deniability is a wonderful thing: "Oh, sorry guv, didn’t realise that was broken, I’ll get technical on it right away." Why don’t I believe that the designers ‘accidentally’ didn’t test this one aspect of their otherwise perfectly functioning system?
 
‘Tescos: Every little helps’ – yeah, right. They got the words the wrong way round. It should read:
 
‘Every little helps Tescos’.
 
</mode>
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in ... wait, what?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The live prey tells…

  1. Julie-Marie says:

    Hey howdy hey Colin 🙂
    Sorry I havent been around sooner, been a bit tied up OO-ER pml…
    Tesco’s suck!!! Your better with Asda – They smack their own arses 🙂
    Right so…erm…explain wimmin & snakes & lakes??? Drunk wimmin & snakes I get pml….Noooo I don’t physically get….I mean I understandy…Gawd maybe I should shut up now!!! 🙂
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Ok that was enough silence for me!!
    Hope you have a luvverly squidgey squadgey day (I don’t know what it means OK!)
    Hugs & luv
    Pinky
    xxxx

  2. Pure Fire says:

    Hi Colin…I have to agree with your shopping at tescos online…I have stopped using them as the dates on their items where always bad…having to eat all you food within 2 days, not good…I shop at Sainsburys now as it works out alot cheaper…I compared my shopping lists and sainsburys had more to offer for less money…just goes to show there slogan is a load of crap…
     
    Have a great evening…Cat xxx 

  3. Nikki R says:

    Gosh, where do you all live? I couldn’t live without my Tesco online and the dates are always aeons ahead. Perhaps I’ve just been lucky. Nikki.  

  4. Pingback: The priceless hypocrisy of Marcus Brigstocke | Wibble

I'd love to hear what your views are!

