One more virtual sabot

I’m not a luddite. Any sabots I may throw into the machinery, from time to time, are virtual ones.
 
I don’t pray to the Prophet of Progress, nor do I worship at the Altar of Change.
 
I admit that change is inevitable, sometimes welcome, and can be, as they say, "as good as a rest": but although I may spring-clean my bedroom and occasionally move the furniture around, when I go to sleep it’s to the same bed – I won’t have upgraded to the latest water-hammock.
 
I may go on holiday for a week or two, but I return to my same old home. Until I move, of course… not a lot of point in returning to the OLD home, the new residents would look at me kind of funnily and probably ask me to take my feet off the coffee table. And ask for my copies of their keys, too, come to think of it.
 
Change for its own sake isn’t desirable.
 
It’s a matter of design. I relish good design and rail at the bad – where bad is B.A.D.: Broken As Designed. Things that are the way they are simply because insufficient forethought, or testing, has gone into the design aren’t good for the soul. Well, I admit I can’t speak for yours but they’re certainly not good for mine.
 
Some thoughts I don’t like having trundle around inside my head like super-balls, bouncing back and forth until it’s not just me that’s grumpy, I’ve infected everyone around me with my ranty witterings. Thoughts such as:
 
    • ‘why, oh, why is it that the remote-controlled goggle-box includes only one remote control?’
    • ‘why are the buttons on this new telephone so ludiculously tiny?’
    • ‘why does this teapot always drip?’

The thing is: I’m pretty certain that sometimes (not always) I’m actually right about some of the things I rant about. All around me, there are changes in an apparently endless upward (or downward, depending on your point of view) spiral of replacement. Most of it, it seems to me, is entirely unnecessary, utterly pointless, driven by marketing forces, one-upmanship, and keeping-up-with-the-joneses-ism.

And like that infuriating persistently-dripping teapot, there are some things that clearly cry out to be changed: yet few seem at all interested in addressing the problem.

In some cases, totally unaware that there is even a problem, and an easy solution.

Take the Dvorak keyboard, for instance.

More later – sun’s shining 😀

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One more virtual sabot

  1. Pete says:

    Hey
    Thanks for dropping by, you are always welcome – as are your views.
    Despite the bait and switch comedy – by luck rather than judgement – I think the message was generally appreciated that education is failing to educate on what matters. Your suggestion makes perfect sense – teach kids what its like to be a parent before they become one althogh the epipheny of the \’oh yeah\’ moment is one of lifes great moments.
     
    I am with you, there is time and place for change. It works where it is needed and applied correctly – moving the living room furniture around because its a bank holiday and there is nothing on the TV is not my idea of fun and it only ends up back where it started a week later. Some sleeping dogs should be left to lie.
     
    Have a good day and take care
    Pete

I'd love to hear what your views are!

