Aesculus Hippocastanum

ESS-kew-lus hip-po-kass-TAH-num,
‘Horse Chestnut’: so named
As its nuts were ground to become
Fodder for horses, it’s claimed.
 
For my little tree, this year is a first:
Near two decades of waiting, at last
A few little leaves have finally burst
(they’ve always been large in the past).
 
Last year and this, the leaves have turned brown
Well before they seasonally should:
But I am told I shouldn’t feel down
As the problem does not harm the wood.
 
The cause is attack by a leaf-mining moth
(‘Cameria Ohridella’ by name)
That arrived here in England from over sea’s froth
(This ‘orrid, from Europe it came).
 
The emerald bloom surrounding the trunk
Reminds me: repot before Spring;
Trim the roots, replace soil, and then plunk
It back in, before growth once again becomes king.
 
Moss is so clever, it knows what the time is:
Next year there will be none of it;
But the year after that, up it will fizz,
My bonsai alarm clock won’t quit 🙂
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Bonsai Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aesculus Hippocastanum

  1. Cynical says:

    Thanks for the fly-by.  I believe it was more of a touch-and-go as you left a comment.  I changed to RF mice only after Stinky the Cat had chewed the tails off four or five of the corded variety as well as deactivating every telephone cord in the house.  I really hated to lose the little blinky mouse which had a clear plastic scroll wheel that flashed various cheerful colors and entertained me even more than what was on the screen.  Old people are easily amused.  I just don\’t think I should start bonsai as a hobby now.  Another drawback of using a cordless mouse became evident when its low power RF signal would not pass through the tubby body of Bittle the Cat who was sleeping comfortably under my right arm.  Addressing the environmental impact of my decision; the disposal of about seven telephone cords and nearly as many corded mice would have had much more impact than recycling the rechargeable NiMH batteries I use.  This does not take into account any device I might have thrown out a window in frustration.  And I have retained some of the mice which, upon triage, appeared to be repairable – I just haven\’t gotten the old soldering pencil out recently.
     
    I have read enough of your posts to know I must return to read more.  Our humor appears to be much alike (please do not be offended by that) and I am quite willing to admit that I have much to learn from a master pedant.  In deference and respect, I leave a haiku:
     
    Pixilated glow
    From the fifteen-inch night-light
    Waking dreams captured
     
    Peace, Doc

    • pendantry says:

      Damn technology. Went to visit the cynical psychologist only to meet a sign on the door saying that the doctor is now no longer in, permanently. Yet another thing to thank Microsoft for…

      Here’s hoping all’s well in your world wherever you may now be, doc 🙂

I'd love to hear what your views are!

