Little Apples


‘We plant the seed,
Nature grows the seed;
Then, we eat the seed.’
 – Neil (Nigel Planer, The Young Ones).

One day in 1994
I ate an apple to the core.
I took a pip and planted it
And Nature did its thing with it.

I think it was when he was four
My nephew was my visitor.
He grasped the tree in one small mitt
And gurglingly uprooted it.

Each year since then, it’s struggled through
With stubborn perseverance grew;
This year, it is the very first
It hasn’t looked its very worst.

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Bonsai Diary, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Little Apples

  1. Polly says:

    That’s beautiful.
    Ever get that feeling of deja vu – perhaps it’s my age. 

  2. Lo says:

    Colin, In answer to your question, I can’t keep cats, men, or anything besides books up in the air – I’m usually reading more than one at once. Books, that is – men are fairly heavy and they tend to get cross in the presence of others. Cats are just generally uncooperative and bloody-minded as a species. Including mine, who I love anyway. Does that answer your question? What inspired it? xxLo

  3. Sally Ann says:

    Nice poem, nice tree. 

I'd love to hear what your views are!

