The Smoking Gun

So today in the UK,
We are told to smoke no more in public places:
And the anti-passive lobby is appeased
At least for now.
 
While I agree that this is good,
Yet I feel the act misguided
Since the cars, still, clog the roads
Pouring fumes into our faces;
Cities stink of foul exhaustion 
And these gases do more harm –
Not just to us but to the world.
 
Smoking kills, some:
Driving kills, many.
 
It is true that I am guilty too
I am one part of the problem:
As one person there is little we can do, but
Watch elected leaders twiddle with solutions.
About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Smoking Gun

  1. penelope says:

    Hi Colin, Thank you for the visit to my space, and Boris sends thanks for asking after his welfare.   He’s fine at the moment, although the wet weather is not to his liking. He prefers cold mornings with the frost outlining his web so everyone can admire it. He’s  such a show off, don’t know where he gets it from, lol.    Pen  xx

  2. Vicky says:

    Colin, we live in a road transport orientated world, whether we like it or not. Car ownership will increase as so called public transport dies. Last week I travelled to my place of work 40 miles away in my own vehicle. Usually the journey took me two hours – average speed 20mph! Had I tried to do the same journey by public transport it would have taken me 7 hours, some eight changes and a good deal more expense, but the average speed would have only been about 28mph. This week I am going to a different job, in a different direction. Again about 45 miles and again an average speed of 20 or so. Because of where it is I could not get to it any other way than by my own car.  Until we are able to change both our expectations and our working methods the roads situation will not change. We still have, largely, an 18th century road system with 21st century transport trying to use it. That, I think personally, is the main problem.   Got to go now………………..XXVickyXX

  3. Vicky says:

     
    I have to agree with you so far as out love affair with the motor car is concerned, love it as much as I do. But how the hell will we do it is the question. In the end I think we will retain personal transport in some form or another, perhaps smaller vehicles, Smartcar size and smaller perhaps fuelled by some system as yet undiscovered. I honestly believe man is on the verge of a new round of discoveries anyway but maybe another world war is needed to trigger them. We have to get out of the grip of the oil giants and into something simpler for fuel. We cannot, as yet carry enough compressed gasses to go more than a few miles, not have we developed solar or wind powered vehicles, except indirectly as genertors of electricity. Magnetism springs most readily to my mind, again as a secondary or supplementary energy source. I don\’t think we should dismiss and possibilities however bizzare or remote. Clockwork for instance or some form of EXternal combustion engine. Of course, as I said before, most of the delays on the roads are caused by the condition those roads are in. I have been driving since I was 14 and owned my first car, a Standard 10, in 1961. Ever since then I have paid road and fuel taxes as well as all the other costs levied in driving yet still await the new stretch of highway I have paid for several times over. The road where I currently live is an 18th century lane with tarmac thinly sprinkled on it, the A14 (what a joke) once hailed as the road to link the east coast to the rest of the world, is an ill conceived hotchpotch of new, old and, indescribably. Some of its junctions could only have been designed by a raving lunatic who hated cars and in the ten years or so since its completion it is already crumbling. Whatever the motive power, be it fossil fuel, electricity or whatever we must have a proper, modern and up to date road network. This country depends on road transport for it very existence – I think it is about time we started to get some of our road taxes back.
    Roses and trees. It is easy to fall into the trap of giving humanoid feelings and traits to plants. Some plants thrive by being cut down, some by being burned, others die as soon as they have reproduced………….. man is the odd one out here!
    Book publishing. Yes I have tried to get it published but no-one seemed interested. Hence my decision to blog it!
    Talk to you some more soon, I expect.  XXVickyXX   

I'd love to hear what your views are!

