The right to choose

By a devious route that is an idiosyncrasy — emphasis on the crazy — of this innerwebz thingy I stumbled upon the following video for the first time, just now. In respect for the memory of my dear friend, I had no choice but to drop everything and create this blog post.

Apologies for the copy-paste below from my earlier post, but I would like to include these links here but don’t have much energy for a ‘proper’ composition just now:

… the Canadian organisation Dying with Dignity. There are similar organisations across the world lobbying for a change in the way that our society handles end of life issues (a google search led me to a related UK organisation, Dignity in Dying

Until we meet again.

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Communication, Core thought, Culture, Education, Health, People, Phlyarology, Strategy, Tributes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The right to choose

  1. Yes I totally agree… So many of our loved ones suffer needlessly. They know when they have had enough and should be given the right to choose… And no one should be left to carry the burden of guilt… Wonderful post.. I didnt see the Soap as I don’t watch but its been on so many programmes recently as it has brought into debate again this whole question of dying in dignity ..

    Sue

    Like

  2. Jacko says:

    What an amazing lady… Thanks for sharing the video

    Like

  3. penpusherpen says:

    I will never understand the withholding of the right to end ones own suffering. I know the naysayers claim that it will start floodgates opening, where relatives ‘get rid’ before time, but surely safeguards would/could be in place? (Now I have a picture in my head of Monty Python, Bring out yer Dead sequence.!! ) xx

    Like

    • pendantry says:

      Glad you feel that way, Pen. Might I suggest that you follow up with a trip to your friendly neighbourhood charity dedicated to assisting us all with the right to a quality end?

      As for the recommended clip: Perfect. I know Amy would appreciate it! Allow me:

      Like

I'd love to hear what your views are!

