Once upon a dream

There once
was just
this little bard
who dreamt of
being great.

A tale begins.

Words
on an
empty
slate

Advent'rous soul,
explorer, he
set foot
upon
the path.

The way
unclear;
could not
see far
sought wisdom
from a muse.

Before too long
the sirens' song
(a call not
to refuse)
led him
astray
and
with no clues
into a realm
of lose.

This maze
is vast:
somewhere within
the Egress lies in coils.
Her twists and turns
this way and that
his every move
she foils.

"I must
win through!"
he gasps, with
fading
breath.

"Win
through
you shall!"
comes the
riposte
"-- to
certain
death."

Confusion
haunts
our hero's face
as ever
onward
does he race.

Dream on,
brave soul,
his captor
taunts
for there
is no escape:
the endless depths
of death's abyss
at the last
your hope
shall rape.

Though
every mortal
fears to leave
this vale of tears,
though each
may reach
and strive;
the resolution
of this quest
is death:

for none
shall leave
alive.

...

There once
was just
this little bard
who dreamt of
being great.

But little he
did know then
this was not to be
his fate.

Each time he
thought he
had arrived, he
turned around
and then:

Dumbfounded,
found
they'd
gone and moved
the goalposts
once again.

Game over,
little bard:
dream on.

Continue?
Y/N

About pendantry

Phlyarologist (part-time) and pendant. Campaigner for action against anthropogenic global warming (AGW) and injustice in all its forms. Humanist, atheist, notoftenpist. Wannabe poet, writer and astronaut.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Once upon a dream

  1. Great little Ode.. Those darn goal posts!….. Good to see you posting again… Pendantry.. :-)

  2. good to see you back.
    best Jules

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    As I read this – I did it twice – it reminded me of Omar Khayyams quatrains. Strange that it should but am glad and enjoyed it.

    Continue Y/N? – Certainly yes!

    • pendantry says:

      Eric… I am doubly flattered; once by you having read my effort more than once (!) and again by connecting my weak offering with the ‘Rubaiyat’ (!!). Needless to say, until now, the only part of Omar Khayyam’s work that I’m aware of is that part that has become embeddeded in our culture.

      I would have responded sooner, but I wanted to edumacate myself a little on his work. I now have a copy of the ‘Wine of Nishapur’ on order. At least, I think I have: I’m not convinced that the website on which I placed my order was working properly. Blessed machines, gotta love ‘em (but not, no, no, never ever anthropomorphise the buggers).

  4. witsendnj says:

    That was really very compelling, Wibble. Y.

  5. penpusherpen says:

    ah, that Siren call, (I can hear it still) I says ‘yes’ to t’li’l bard. x

I'd love to hear what your views are!

